TRULY CRISPY OVEN BAKED CHICKEN WINGS WITH HONEY GARLIC SAUCE

Thanks to Cook’s Illustrated, I will never deep fry chicken wings again. Making oven baked wings that come out truly crispy is so easy that I was gob smacked. The results are phenomenal

“These honestly taste like they have been deep fried.”

I am a food nerd. I know this because I enjoy the way Cook’s Illustrated explains the science behind why they do things a particular way (usually not the traditional way). I really like to use Cook’s Illustrated recipes as a base for my own recipes, like these wings which I make using my own sauce recipe.

There are two secrets to achieve truly crispy oven baked wings:

  1. Coat in baking powder – yes, you read that right, baking powder! I won’t go into all the technicalities, but in a nutshell, the baking powder draws moisture to the surface of the skin so it can evaporate, thereby making the skin crispier; and
  2. Bake for 30 minutes on low to melt the fat before blasting in a very hot oven to crisp up the skin. There’s a lot of scientific explanations around this and I’ll skip it because I’ll bore you! But basically, the wings are first baked on the lowest shelf in the oven at a very low temperature for 30 minutes which causes the fat under the skin to “melt”, then you move the wings up to the top shelf and crank up the heat which crisps up the skin.

When these come out of the oven and you tap the skin with your nail, you can instantly “hear” how crispy the skin is. They even look like they’ve been fried! And in case you are concerned, you don’t taste baking powder at all.

“Another great thing about these wings is that because the fat is rendered out (melted), it means that these wings have less calories!”

You will notice that the wings are smaller than you are used to. That’s because so much of the fat under the skin melts off the wings – you’ll see it all pooled on the tray. So these have the added benefit of reduced calories too!

You can toss the wings in your sauce of choice or serve the sauce on the side. I choose to serve it on the side so the wings stay crispy. The sauce I used in this recipe is a classic flavour combination – honey, soy sauce, garlic and sriracha (optional). I want this sauce on tap, I love it so much! I use it for alot of things and I’m sure you will see it featured more on my blog.

Let’s get stuck into these wings! – Nagi

About Sylvester

The world will always give you the opportunity to quit. In trying times, too many people quit trying. One of the most powerful success principles ever preach is: Never Give Up!
This entry was posted in HEALTH, NAIJA INFO KITCHEN. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

